UNC vs. Duke: All-Time Rosters (Of My Generation)

North Carolina and Duke have played each other in men's basketball 233 times.  It's widely noted as the most fierce and hated rivalry in college basketball, if not sports in general.  Tomorrow night will mark the sixth time they've squared off to decide the ACC Regular Season Championship, with the Heels winning three times and Duke winning twice.  (Just to make it clear to anyone who isn't aware, I should make it known that I'm a huge UNC fan and absolutely despise Duke with every cell in my entire body.  Like I probably wouldn't mind if the Duke bus was the thing that crashed into that truck carrying 200 lbs of jet fuel during the Daytona 500.  I'm glad everyone in that situation was okay btw, but I wouldn't be if it were the Duke basketball team.  To clarify, yes, they should die.  That's how much I hate them.  So forgive me if this seems rather biased.)

In honor of tomorrow's game, I'd like to put together my version of the All-Time rosters for both squads and let you decide which team would win.  Leave a comment or go to our facebook page to vote.

North Carolina Tar Heels

G - Phil Ford (1975-78)
Ford was the all-time scoring leader at UNC for 20 seasons until Tyler Hansbrough surpassed him in 2008.  He's one of only 3 ACC players to ever score over 2,000 points and have more than 600 assists.  He was a consensus All-American in 76, 77, and 78 when he also was named College Player of the Year.

G - Michael Jordan (1982-84)
Best basketball player of all-time.  'Nuff said.

G - Vince Carter (1996-98)
During Carter's sophomore and junior seasons, he helped lead the Tar Heels to back-to-back Final Fours.  He was named second-team All-American during his junior season when he averaged over 15 points and 5 rebounds while shooting almost 60 percent from the floor and over 40 percent from three.

F - Tyler Hansbrough (2006-09)
Nicknamed "Psycho T" by Tar Heel fans, Hansbrough was a part of the 2009 National Championship team under coach Roy Williams and is the all-time leading scorer in ACC history.  During his junior season he had 19 double doubles and scored over 25 points 16 times.  He led the team in scoring and rebounding each of his 4 seasons as a Tar Heel, the only player in ACC history to do so.

F- James Worthy (1979-82)
Worthy was the team's leading scorer his junior year while playing with the likes of Michael Jordan and Sam Perkins.  That season, he shared Player of the Year honors with Ralph Sampson.  In the 1982 Championship game, he scored 28 points on 13 of 17 shooting and was named the NCAA Tournament's Most Outstanding Player.  He is one of only 8 players to have his jersey retired by the school.

Bench: Ty Lawson, Wayne Ellington, Raymond Felton, Sean May, Rashad McCants, Antawn Jamison, Ed Cota

Duke Blue Devils

G - Johnny Dawkins (1983-86)
Dawkins was the all-time leading scorer at Duke with 2, 556 points until J.J. Redick surpassed that 2006.  Dawkins was named the Naismith Player of the Year in his senior season and was named the 78th best college basketball player of all-time by The Sporting News in 2002.

G - J.J. Redick (2003-06) 
No matter how much I hate this guy, he put up some pretty crazy numbers at Duke.  He's the school's all-time leading scorer and won numerous Player of the Year awards in his senior season.  He finished his career with 457 3-pointers made while shooting over 40 percent to go along with his 2,769 points, good enough for second all-time in ACC history.

F - Shane Battier (1998-2001)
Probably the best defender in Duke history, Battier led his team to two National Championships, winning the second.  He won numerous Player of the Year awards his senior season and was a 3-time NABC Defensive Player of the Year.

F - Grant Hill (1991-94)
A member of three Duke teams to make it to the National Championship, Hill was named the nation's top defender in 93 and ACC Player of the Year in 94.  Hill became the first ACC player to collect 1,900 points, 700 rebounds, 400 assists, 200 steals, and 100 blocks.

F - Christian Laettner (1989-92)
Laettner is the only player to ever start in four consecutive Final Fours.  The most celebrated Duke player of all-time, he averaged 16.6 points and 7.7 rebounds in his career in Durham and holds multiple NCAA Tournament records.  He's probably known for his last-second turnaround jumper at the free throw line to beat Kentucky in the Elite 8.

Bench: Mike Gminski, Elton Brand, Kyle Singler, Carlos Boozer, Jason Williams, Danny Ferry, Bobby Hurley

Don't forget to go to our Facebook page - FourthDownStand - or hit us up on twitter - @fourthdownstand to  vote for who you think would win!

No comments:

Post a Comment